Wednesday, 22 May 2024

BWF News

Two unheralded players made history at the Yonex Open Japan 2013, securing the first-ever title for Japan. Shizuka Uchida and Akane Yamaguchi shocked the badminton world with their stunning performances in the Women’s Singles semi-finals. Uchida defeated Olympic silver medalist Wang Yihan, while Yamaguchi ended Tai Tzu Ying’s hopes of defending her title. This sets the stage for an all-Japanese Women’s Singles final, a momentous occasion in the tournament’s 32-year history.

Both Uchida and Yamaguchi have had exceptional runs in the tournament. Uchida, who was promoted from the qualifying draw, upset two higher-ranked players on her way to the semi-finals. Yamaguchi, at just 16 years old, faced a formidable opponent in Tai Tzu Ying but showed remarkable resilience and skill to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

In the Men’s Singles, Japan also has a chance at glory as Kenichi Tago powered past Gao Huan to reach his fifth Superseries final. Tago will face the world number one, Lee Chong Wei, in the final. While Tago faces a daunting task, having lost all 13 of his previous encounters with Lee Chong Wei, his impressive performance in the semi-finals gives hope to the home crowd.

Lee Chong Wei was in a league of his own in his semi-final match against Vietnam’s Nguyen Tien Minh. With his exceptional shot-making and control over the game, Lee left Tien Minh baffled and overwhelmed. The Malaysian superstar is the clear favorite to defend his Japan Open crown.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  BWF News: The Positive Impact of Badminton Participation on Eye Health

Image: Shizuka Uchida and Akane Yamaguchi

The Women’s Singles semi-finals were a dream come true for the home crowd. Shizuka Uchida, who had previously won the Polish Open 2013, continued her impressive form by defeating Wang Yihan convincingly. Yamaguchi’s victory over Tai Tzu Ying was equally remarkable, with the defending champion faltering under the pressure.

In other matches, Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan advanced to their third straight Superseries final in the Men’s Doubles. They will face another Chinese pair, Chai Biao/Hong Wei, for the championship. The Mixed Doubles final will be a replay of the all-Chinese Olympic final, with Xu Chen/Ma Jin taking on Zhang Nan/Zhao Yunlei. In the Women’s Doubles, Christinna Pedersen, partnering with Kamilla Rytter Juhl, will face top seeds Ma Jin/Tang Jinhua.

This historic tournament has showcased the immense talent and determination of the players. The home crowd has been treated to an unforgettable display of badminton, with Japanese players dominating the semi-finals. As the finals approach, anticipation builds for what promises to be a thrilling conclusion to the Yonex Open Japan 2013.


Q: Who made history at the Yonex Open Japan 2013?
A: Shizuka Uchida and Akane Yamaguchi made history by ensuring Japan’s first-ever title in the tournament.

Q: Who will play in the Women’s Singles final?
A: Shizuka Uchida and Akane Yamaguchi will face each other in an all-Japanese Women’s Singles final.

Q: Who will Kenichi Tago face in the Men’s Singles final?
A: Kenichi Tago will face Lee Chong Wei, the world number one, in the Men’s Singles final.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  News | BWF World Championships

Q: What other matches are noteworthy in the tournament?
A: Mohammad Ahsan/Hendra Setiawan will play Chai Biao/Hong Wei in the Men’s Doubles final, while Xu Chen/Ma Jin will face Zhang Nan/Zhao Yunlei in the Mixed Doubles final. In the Women’s Doubles final, Christinna Pedersen and Kamilla Rytter Juhl will compete against Ma Jin/Tang Jinhua.


The Yonex Open Japan 2013 has been a tournament full of surprises and historic moments. Japanese players have made their mark, with Shizuka Uchida and Akane Yamaguchi reaching the Women’s Singles final. Kenichi Tago will carry the hopes of the home crowd in the Men’s Singles final against the formidable Lee Chong Wei. The finals promise to deliver exciting badminton action and crowning moments for the champions. Stay tuned for the thrilling conclusion of the Yonex Open Japan 2013.

Text by Dev Sukumar | Badmintonphoto