Thursday, 20 Jun 2024

New BWF Council Elected for 2017-2021

The Badminton World Federation (BWF) is pleased to announce the election of a new council to serve for the period of 2017-2021. This article will introduce you to the newly elected members and provide an overview of the election process.

Welcoming New Council Members

The BWF Council has welcomed seven new members, bringing fresh perspectives and expertise to the organization. The newly elected members are as follows:

  • Tang Jiu Hong from China
  • Moosa Nashid from Maldives
  • Battushig Batbold from Mongolia
  • Danlami Zama Sanchi from Nigeria
  • Emma Mason from Scotland
  • Robbert de Kock from Switzerland
  • Khunying Patama Leeswadtrakul from Thailand

New BWF Council Elected for 2017-2021

Re-Elected Council Members

Additionally, 11 incumbent members of the BWF Council were re-elected. They will continue to serve for another four years. The re-elected members are:

  • Wayne Somers from Canada
  • Nora Perry from England
  • Etienne Thobois from France
  • Jassem Kanso from Lebanon
  • Lim Teong Kiat from Malaysia
  • Nigel Skelt from New Zealand
  • Sergey Shakhray from Russia
  • Ng Yoke Weng from Singapore
  • Peter Tarcala from Slovakia
  • David Cabello from Spain
  • Chipo Zumburani from Zimbabwe

These 18 members will join BWF President Poul-Erik Høyer from Denmark, BWF Deputy President Gustavo Salazar Delgado from Peru, and BWF Vice-President Para-Badminton Paul Kurzo from Switzerland on the 27-member council.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  News | BWF Thomas & Uber Cup Finals

A Transparent Election Process

The BWF Council election was conducted during the BWF Annual General Meeting held in Gold Coast, Australia. A total of 26 candidates stood for election, with eight candidates withdrawing their nominations before the elections. The remaining candidates were voted for by the BWF membership.

Chinese Taipei delegate at the BWF Council Election


What is the role of the BWF Council?

The BWF Council is responsible for making decisions that shape the future of the organization and the sport of badminton at the international level. They oversee strategic planning, development initiatives, and the governance of the sport.

How often are BWF Council elections held?

BWF Council elections are held every four years, allowing for new members to be elected and existing members to be re-elected.

Can anyone stand for election to the BWF Council?

To be eligible for the BWF Council, individuals must be nominated by their respective member association and meet the criteria set by the BWF.


The new BWF Council for 2017-2021 brings together a diverse group of individuals who are passionate about the sport of badminton. With their expertise and dedication, they will work towards the development and growth of the sport on a global scale.

For more information about the BWF and its initiatives, visit Carnegiecentre.