Sunday, 21 Jul 2024

BWF News

The BWF Player of the Year awards for 2020-2021 have been announced, with Viktor Axelsen and Tai Tzu Ying receiving the honors as the Male and Female Players of the Year. Both Axelsen and Tai Tzu Ying had an exceptional season and this recognition is well-deserved.

Axelsen’s Remarkable Run

Viktor Axelsen’s impressive performance throughout the season earned him the award. From the Barcelona Spain Masters in February 2020, the Danish player reached the finals in 10 out of 11 individual tournaments, winning seven of them, including a gold medal at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. Axelsen expressed his gratitude and motivation to continue working hard, especially after such a rewarding year.

Tai Tzu Ying’s Stellar Form

Tai Tzu Ying’s standout performances were recognized with the Female Player of the Year award. She secured the YONEX All England 2020 title and then continued her success at the Asian Leg in January 2021, reaching all three finals and claiming victory at the HSBC BWF World Tour Finals 2020. Although she narrowly missed out on the gold medal at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, she remains determined to achieve even better results and is grateful for the support of her fans.

Other Honorees

Lee Yang and Wang Chi-Lin, Olympic champions from Chinese Taipei, were named the Most Improved Players of the Year. Their outstanding performances at the Asian Leg in January 2021, where they won all three titles, and their historic gold medal at Tokyo 2020 were key factors in securing this award. Greysia Polii and Apriyani Rahayu, who won the women’s doubles gold at Tokyo 2020, received the Pair of the Year award for their emotional journey and stellar performances throughout the season.

Tham Khảo Thêm:  BWF News

Para Badminton Awards

In the Para Badminton category, Qu Zimo and Leani Ratri Oktila were honored as the Male and Female Players of the Year respectively. This is the second time both players have received these awards, showcasing their talent and dedication in the Para Badminton circuit. Lucas Mazur and Faustine Noel from France were recognized as the Para Badminton Pair of the Year.

The BWF Awards Commission also acknowledged the remarkable journey of Guatemalan player Kevin Cordon, who competed in four Olympic Games and delivered inspiring performances at Tokyo 2020, reaching the semifinals.

Congratulations to all the winners of the BWF Player of the Year awards. Their achievements and contributions to the sport of badminton have made a significant impact and deserve recognition.